WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today the U.S. Senate passed a resolution authored by U.S. Senators Bob Menendez (D-N.J.) and John Barrasso (R-Wyo.) commemorating the 196th Anniversary of Greek Independence Day on March 25, 2017.

“The United States and Greece have a deep and enduring relationship that dates back to the founding of our great nation on the democratic principles pioneered by the ancient Greeks. I am honored to again stand with my colleagues in the Senate and Greek-Americans across the country to celebrate the 196th anniversary of Greek independence.” Sen. Menendez said. “This resolution identifies Ancient Greece as the birthplace of democracy, and applauds the Greeks’ continued commitment to democratic principles. Congratulations to Greek-Americans and the people of Greece on their nearly two centuries of independence, and best wishes to everyone during the upcoming celebrations.”

The resolution:

  • Celebrates the 196th Anniversary of Greek Independence Day
  • Recognizes the birth of democracy in Ancient Greece and Greece’s everlasting commitment to democratic governance principles
  • Identifies the important role Greece has played in the wider European Region and throughout the world

Full text of the resolution can be found here.

Authored by Sens. Menendez and Barasso, the resolution has 22 original co-sponsors, including Sens. Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Thad Cochran (R-Miss.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Joe Donnelly (D-Ind.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Ron Johnson (R-Wisc.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Bill Nelson (D-Fla.), David Perdue (R-Ga.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R..I), and Ron Wyden (D-Ore.).