WASHINGTON, D.C. – As the United States Women’s National Soccer Team (USWNT) was being cheered by thousands of fans at the ticker tape parade in New York City today, U.S. Senators Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), and Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) led their colleagues in introducing a bipartisan Senate resolution congratulating the team for winning the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup. The resolution also highlights the Senate’s solidarity with the team as they fight for equal pay.

“The U.S. Women’s National Team continues to make us proud. They represent the best of America, our values, spirit and drive on the world’s biggest stage. I congratulate all the players, staff and coaches for their teamwork, dedication and incredible skill that led the team to victory,” said Sen. Menendez. “I’m also incredibly proud of New Jersey’s own Tobin Heath and Carli Lloyd. World Cup champions deserve to be paid like champions and I will continue fighting alongside these incredibly inspiring women as they strive for equal pay.”

“The U.S. Women’s National Team is an inspiration. In securing their fourth World Cup victory, the players, coaches, and staff stand as a testament to the American values of hard work and commitment,” said Sen. Collins. “This resolution recognizes the perseverance, skill, and leadership exhibited by the team, and I am proud to join the rest of the United States in congratulating them on this incredible achievement.”

“History will remember this team not only for their stunning success but also their resilience and determination off their field during their campaign for a record fourth World Cup,” said Sen. Feinstein. “The team is an inspiration to all Americans, particularly to young girls who saw that hard work is rewarded with victory.”

The resolution is also cosponsored by Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Doug Jones (Ala.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisc.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Bob Casey (D-Penn.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.) and Patty Murray (D-Wash.).

A copy of the resolution can be found below and here.


Congratulating the United States Women’s National Soccer Team for winning the 2019 FIFA World Cup.

Whereas on July 7, 2019, in Lyon, France, the United States Women’s National Soccer Team (referred to in this preamble as the “USWNT”) won the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup (referred to in this preamble as the “Women’s World Cup”);

Whereas during the Women’s World Cup the USWNT finished first in its group before eliminating teams representing Spain, France, and England in the knockout stages to reach the final;

Whereas the USWNT secured a decisive 2-0 victory over the Netherlands in the final, winning the Women’s World Cup championship twice in a row and becoming the first team to win the Women’s World Cup 4 times;

Whereas the USWNT scored the fist goal in every match it played during the Women’s World Cup;

Whereas, in the final match against the Netherlands, Megan Rapinoe scored in the 61st minute and Rose Lavelle scored in the 69th minute of the match;

Whereas Crystal Dunn, Alyssa Naeher, and other members of the defensive line played key roles in preventing the Netherlands from scoring against the United States;

Whereas all 23 players on the roster should be congratulated, including captains Carli Lloyd, Alex Morgan, and Megan Rapinoe, as well as Morgan Brian, Abby Dahlkemper, Tierna Davidson, Crystal Dunn, Julie Ertz, Adrianna Franch, Ashlyn Harris, Tobin Heath, Lindsey Horan, Ali Krieger, Rose Lavelle, Allie Long, Jessica McDonald, Samantha Mewis, Alyssa Naeher, Kelley O’Hara, Christen Press, Mallory Pugh, Becky Sauerbrunn and Emily Sonnett;

Whereas head coach Jill Ellis—the first coach to win consecutive FIFA Women’s World Cup titles, displayed extraordinary leadership in adjusting the team’s starting lineup as the tournament progressed in order to promote teamwork and capitalize on the talents of each player;

Whereas Megan Rapinoe was presented with the Golden Boot award, which is awarded to the individual who scores the most goals in the tournament, and the Golden Ball award, which is awarded to the tournament’s best player;

Whereas Alex Morgan was presented with the Silver Boot award, which is awarded to the individual who scored the second-most goals in the tournament, and Rose Lavelle was presented with the Bronze Ball award, which is awarded to the third-best player in the tournament;

Whereas the USWNT was bolstered by historic attacking prowess, setting all-time records for goals scored in a single game and throughout the entire Women’s World Cup, as well as a strong defensive record, conceding only 3 goals over 7 games;

Whereas every participant in the Women’s World Cup from nations all over the world showed the extraordinary quality and spirit of women’s soccer, and will serve as an inspiration to not only women and girls, but to all people as they chase their dreams;

Whereas for decades the USWNT has been leading the fight to grow and promote women’s soccer;

Whereas the USWNT is leading the fight for equal pay for female athletes; and

Whereas dedicated fans and citizens across the United States showed their unmitigated support for the USWNT as they competed in France: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Senate—

(1) congratulates the USWNT for winning the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup through spectacular skill, teamwork, and determination;

(2) recognizes the achievements of all of the players, coaches, and staff who contributed to the success of the USWNT;

(3) stands in solidarity with the women of the USWNT as they strive for equal pay; and

(4) celebrates the contributions of the millions of fans across the United States, and the world, who cheered the USWNT to victory, and made the players the best supported team in the world.