NEWARK, N.J. – U.S. Senators Bob Menendez, Cory Booker and 22 of their Senate colleagues today expressed support for the 13 states, including New Jersey, and the District of Columbia that have adopted the strongest fuel economy standards in the nation. They further pledged to oppose any efforts by the Trump administration to undermine those standards.

“The federal vehicle emissions standards -- negotiated in an historic agreement between states, the federal government and the auto industry -- provide a critical line of defense against climate change, drive American innovation and competitiveness, and save consumers money at the gas pump,” wrote the senators in a letter to their respective governors. “We stand in solidarity with the states and D.C. that have adopted California’s standards, and will oppose any unprecedented attack on the California waiver or on its standards.”

Under the Clean Air Act, California was issued a waiver to enforce its own fuel economy emissions standards for new vehicles through 2025. As a result, twelve states—New Jersey, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Oregon, Delaware, Pennsylvania, Maine, Rhode Island, Maryland, Vermont, Washington, New York—and the District of Columbia are similarly allowed to adopt the strong California standards.

In their letter, the senators argue that higher fuel economy standards reduce our reliance on foreign oil, save consumers money at the pump, clean up the air, and protect our climate. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Administrator Scott Pruitt has announced his intention to roll back the historic federal vehicle emissions standards for model years 2022-2025 and reexamine the California waiver.

A copy of the letter can be found HERE.

Also signing the letter are Senators Edward J. Markey (D-Mass.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Charles Schumer (D-N.Y.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Tom Udall (D-N.M.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), and Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.).