Washington - U.S. Senators Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ) and Robert Menendez (D-NJ) applauded President Obama's prompt disaster declaration for areas in New Jersey severely damaged, which will help thousands of affected families and businesses recover from the effects of Hurricane Irene. Earlier this week, the Senators sent a letter to the President urging him to expedite the declaration and disbursement of federal aid resources. FEMA made an expedited declaration for nine counties and is continuing to evaluate the damages in other counties before issuing a disaster declaration for additional areas of the state.

"This is an important step toward getting help to New Jersey's flood victims," said Senator Lautenberg, Vice Chairman of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Homeland Security. "I'm pleased that President Obama will visit New Jersey this weekend to see first-hand the devastation caused by Hurricane Irene. Together we will work to ensure that flooding victims throughout the state are provided with the resources they need as quickly as possible."

"New Jersey families, businesses and communities are struggling in the aftermath of Hurricane Irene and we need to ensure they have the help they need. I applaud the President's swift response to our call for expedited federal resources so that our communities can recover, rebuild and move forward," said Senator Menendez.

State of New Jersey
Federal Disaster Declaration Fact Sheet
August 31, 2011

On August 31, 2011, President Obama issued a major disaster declaration for the State of New Jersey, triggering the release of federal funds to help individuals and communities recover from Hurricane Irene that began August 27, 2011 and continuing. Details of this disaster declaration and assistance programs are as follows:

Declaration Number: FEMA- 4021-DR

Incident: Hurricane IreneIncident Period: August 27, 2011, and continuing

Federal Coordinating Officer: William L. Vogel
National FCO Program

Individual Assistance: Assistance to individuals and households

Designated Counties: Bergen, Essex, Morris, Passaic, and Somerset Counties.

Public Assistance: Assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.

Designated Counties: Atlantic, Cape May, Cumberland, and Salem Counties. Direct federal assistance is authorized.Hazard Mitigation: Assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long term risk to life and property from natural hazards