Senators Express Gratitude To The Republic Of Cyprus

Senators Express Gratitude To The Republic Of Cyprus

Senator Menendez leads bipartisan Senate effort in thanking President Papadopoulos for Cyprus help with U.S. Citizens leaving Lebanon

Washington - A bipartisan group of Senators, led by United States Senator Robert Menendez (D-NJ), together with Senators Paul S. Sarbanes (D-MD) and Olympia Snowe (R-ME), sent a letter to Republic of Cyprus President Tassos Papadopoulos to express their deepest thanks for that countrys assistance in helping Americans who have left Lebanon over the past several weeks.

The safe departure of U.S. citizens from Lebanon has been a critical undertaking, one that the Cypriot government has played a central role in carrying out, both unflinchingly and without question, the lawmakers wrote. By embracing Americans in need, your country has given meaning to the saying by the great Greek philosopher Epicurus that, It is not so much our friends' help that helps us as the confident knowledge that they will help us.

Since the start of evacuation efforts, approximately 15,000 U.S. citizens had been transported out of Lebanon by the United States, nearly all of them through Cyprus. The Cypriot government opened the countrys ports, provided food and water to evacuees, and arranged shelter for those fleeing Lebanon.

Senators joining Menendez, Sarbanes and Snowe in writing President Papadopoulos, include: George Allen (R-VA), Lamar Alexander (R-TN), Daniel K. Akaka (D-HI), Jeff Bingaman (D-NM), Max Baucus (D-MT), Robert F. Bennett (R-UT), Joseph R. Biden, Jr. (D-DE), Evan Bayh (D-IN), Christopher S. Bond (R-MO), Barbara Boxer (D-CA), Sam Brownback (R-KS), Robert C. Byrd (D-WV), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Thomas R. Carper (D-DE), Lincoln Chafee (R-RI), Saxby Chambliss (R-GA), Hillary Rodham Clinton (D-NY), Norm Coleman (R-MN), Susan M. Collins (R-ME), Kent Conrad (D-ND), Mike DeWine (R-OH), Christopher J. Dodd (D-CT), Elizabeth Dole (R-NC), Richard Durbin (D-IL), Mark Dayton (D-MN), Byron L. Dorgan (D-ND), Russell D. Feingold (D-WI), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Chuck Grassley (D-IA), Judd Gregg (R-NH), Chuck Hagel (R-NE), Tom Harkin (D-IA), Daniel K. Inouye (D-HI), Johnny Isakson (R-GA), James M. Jeffords (I-VT), Tim Johnson (D-SD), Edward M. Kennedy (D-MA), John F. Kerry (D-MA), Herb Kohl (D-WI), Mary L. Landrieu (D-LA), Frank R. Lautenberg (D-NJ), Patrick J. Leahy (D-VT), Carl Levin (D-MI), Joseph I. Lieberman (D-CT), Blanche L. Lincoln (D-AR), Trent Lott (R-MS), Mel Martinez (R-FL), Barbara A. Mikulski (D-MD), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Patty Murray (D-WA), Benjamin E. Nelson (D-NE), Bill Nelson (D-FL), Barack Obama (D-IL), Mark L. Pryor (D-AR), Harry Reid (D-NV), Pat Roberts (R-KS), Ken Salazar (D-CO), Jack Reed (D-RI), John D. Rockefeller IV (D-WV), Charles E. Schumer (D-NY), Jeff Sessions (R-AL), Gordon H. Smith (R-OR), Arlen Specter (R-PA), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Ted Stevens (R-AK), John E. Sununu (R-NH), George V. Voinovich (R-OH) and Ron Wyden (D-OR).

# # #