Menendez Resolution Condemning Anti-Semitism Passes Senate

Menendez Resolution Condemning Anti-Semitism Passes Senate

WASHINGTON, DC – U.S. Senator Bob Menendez (D-NJ) applauded Senate passage by unanimous consent of a bipartisan resolution he authored condemning anti-Semitism in Europe.  The Resolution, co-sponsored by 60 other Senators, including Sens. Barbara Mikulski (D-MD), Mark Kirk (R- IL) and Marco Rubio (R-FL), calls upon the U.S. Secretary of State, the Attorney General and other relevant government agencies to work closely with the European Union and European governments to further address anti-Semitism in Europe.

“In light of the rise of anti-Semitism in Europe, this resolution calls on European governments to not only stand against anti-Semitism, but to work to end it,” said Sen. Menendez. “We have witnessed what happens when anti-Semitism is not condemned whenever and where ever it arises and we must ensure that history is not repeated.  With the passage of this resolution, the United States Senate and its European allies recommit to never again allow such atrocities to occur and to work toward a more peaceful, less hateful world.”

The Resolution urges U.S. government agencies and officials to work closely with the E.U. and European governments to address anti-Semitism by:

  • Investigating violence motivated by anti-Semitism
  • Designating senior-level special envoys to monitor and combat anti-Semitism
  • Enhancing national strategies to combat and monitor anti-Semitism and hate crimes by training law enforcement and collecting relevant data

The Resolution can be viewed here.

This Resolution is actively supported by the Anti-Defamation League, B’nai B’rith International, HIAS, the Union for Reform Judaism, and Jewish Federations of North America.

Joining Sens. Menendez (D-NJ), Kirk (R- IL), Mikulski (D-MD), and Rubio (R-FL), in co-sponsoring the Anti-Semitism in Europe Resolution are Sens. Reid (D-NV), Wicker (R-MS), Durbin (D-IL), Rounds (R-SD), Schumer (D-NY), Toomey (R-PA), Coons (D-DE), Ayotte (R-NH), Blumenthal (D-CT), Coats (R-IN), Gillibrand (D-NY), Graham (R-SC), Kaine (D-VA), Blunt (R-MO), Boxer (D-CA), Boozman (R-AR), King (I-ME), Heller (R-NV), Cardin (D-MD), Gardner (R-CO), Warren (D-MA), Cotton (R-AR), Feinstein (D-CA), McCain (R-AZ), Shaheen (D-NH), Grassley (R-IA), Markey (D-MA), Cruz (R-TX), Wyden (D-OR), Moran (R-KS), Klobuchar (D-MN), Hatch (R-UT), McCaskill (D-MO), Murkowski (R-AK), Franken (D-MN), Portman (R-OH), Baldwin (D-WI), Corker (R-TN), Leahy (D-VT), Isakson (R-GA), Whitehouse (D-RI), Collins (R-ME), Booker (D-NJ), Lankford (R-OK), Peters (D-MI), Scott (R-SC), Cantwell (D-WA), Stabenow (D-MI), Schatz (D-HI), Brown (D-OH), Nelson (D-FL), Warner (D-VA), Bennet (D-CO), Merkley (D-OR), Casey (D-PA), Murphy (D-CT) and Murray (D-WA).