Menendez Joins Bicameral Call for Greater Transparency in Political Spending

Menendez Joins Bicameral Call for Greater Transparency in Political Spending

WASHINGTON, DC – U.S. Senator Bob Menendez (D-NJ) joins over 100 House Members and 25 Senators in calling on the president to issue an Executive Order requiring companies that do business with the federal government to fully disclose their political contributions. 

The Senators wrote: “Political spending by government contractors is a problem you can address without congressional authorization. You would be on solid legal ground if you were to issue an executive order requiring disclosure of political spending by entities that have been awarded government contracts and their senior leadership… An executive order will not solve our campaign finance problems but it will at least be a step in the right direction, and will show your Administration’s commitment to transparency and fairness.”

The House lawmakers echoed the sentiment: “Taxpayers have a right to know where their money is spent and you have the power to ensure that the American people can obtain this information. With public funds come public responsibilities, and any company receiving federal tax dollars should be required by Executive Order to fully disclose their political spending in a timely and accessible manner.”

Nearly half a billion dollars in undisclosed money has been spent in the last two election cycles. Under current law, the president can take immediate action to increase disclosure by requiring companies that receive federal contracts to fully disclose their political expenditures. Among the top 15 recipients of federal contracting dollars, a recent analysis by Public Citizen found that only 47 percent fully disclose their contributions to non-disclosing 501(c)(4) organizations.

Senate Letter

Senate Signatories (26): Sheldon Whitehouse, Bob Menendez, Bernie Sanders, Tom Udall, Al Franken, Elizabeth Warren, Patrick Leahy, Chuck Schumer, Dick Durbin, Patty Murray, Amy Klobuchar, Sherrod Brown, Kirsten Gillibrand, Chris Coons, Ed Markey, Tammy Baldwin, Gary Peters, Jack Reed, Bob Casey, Richard Blumenthal, Cory Booker, Ben Cardin, Michael Bennet, Jeff Merkley, Mazie Hirono, and Dianne Feinstein.

House Letter

House Signatories (104): Eshoo, Capuano, Israel, Edwards, Grijalva, Ellison, Davis (CA), Van Hollen, Norton, Larson, Cárdenas, Polis, Pingree, Lofgren, Gutiérrez, Chu, Crowley, DelBene, Brady (PA), Lowenthal, Capps, Farr, Sherman, Hahn, Roybal-Allard, Takano, Clark, Loebsack, Tonko, Brownley, Matsui, Yarmuth, Kaptur, McCollum, Bonamici, Kelly (IL), Lee, McGovern, Honda, Lowey, Conyers, Esty, Sarbanes, Pocan, Nolan, Slaughter, Nadler, Watson Coleman, Fattah, Schiff, Welch, Deutch, Walz, Dingell, Gallego, Tsongas, Garamendi, Rice (NY), Huffman, Moore, Boyle, Langevin, Green (TX), Price (NC), Lewis, Lieu, Speier, Jackson Lee, Lawrence, Lujan Grisham, Cartwright, Blumenauer, Kilmer, Cicilline, Frankel, Napolitano, Quigley, Moulton, Schakowsky, Luján, McNerney, Cummings, Richmond, Becerra, Swalwell, C. Maloney, Courtney, DeFazio, Murphy (FL), Rangel, DeSaulnier, Carson, Serrano, Grayson, DeLauro, Larsen, Pallone, Duckworth, Castor, Clarke, Heck (WA), Doyle, Jeffries, Hastings.