Menendez, Booker, Colleagues Introduce Resolution Recognizing June as LGBTQ Pride Month

Menendez, Booker, Colleagues Introduce Resolution Recognizing June as LGBTQ Pride Month


WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Bob Menendez and Cory Booker today joined a group of their Democratic colleagues in introducing a Senate resolution recognizing June as LGBTQ Pride Month. The resolution highlights the contributions LGBTQ individuals have made to American society, notes several major milestones in the fight for equal treatment of LGBTQ Americans, and resolves to continue efforts to achieve full equality for LGBTQ individuals.

“I’m proud to stand with my colleagues in celebrating the many contributions made by the LGBTQ community throughout our history,” said Sen. Menendez. “But while we celebrate throughout Pride Month, we must also remember that the fight for acceptance and equal rights is far from over. From access to health care to affordable housing, we still have more work to do and I look forward to continue working with my colleagues and partners in the LGBTQ community to ensure we solve these critical issues.”

On Monday, Sen. Menendez held a roundtable with local LGBTQ advocacy leaders to discuss issues facing New Jersey’s community, such as the prevalence of homelessness experienced by LGBTQ youth; the need for greater access to quality and affordable health and social services, especially mental health care; data inclusion; and the need for increased HIV/AIDS preventative and treatment services, particularly for black and Latino men.

Joining Sens. Menendez and Booker on the resolution were Senators Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Richard Durbin (D-Ill.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Benjamin Cardin (D-Md.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Bob Casey (D- Penn.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Tom Udall (D-N.M.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Michael Bennett (D-Colo.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Joe Manchin (D-W. Va.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisc.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Angus King (I-Maine), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Doug Jones (D-Ala.), Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.) and Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.).