Disaster Declaration Expanded To Camden, Gloucester, Mercer, Counties, Though Still Not Statewide

Disaster Declaration Expanded To Camden, Gloucester, Mercer, Counties, Though Still Not Statewide

Sens. Lautenberg and Menendez React

Washington - The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that the disaster declaration following the major recent flooding in New Jersey has been expanded, though it still does not encompass the entire state. Camden, Gloucester and Mercer Counties were informed today that they would receive federal assistance.

U.S. Senators Robert Menendez (D-NJ) and Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ), who together with the New Jersey House Delegation have urged President Bush to make a statewide disaster declaration, reacted to the news.

"Although we are pleased that Camden, Gloucester, and Mercer Counties will receive federal aid, there are still too many residents and businesses across New Jersey struggling to recover from the devastating storm. I continue to urge President Bush to declare all of New Jersey a federal disaster area so every affected neighborhood statewide can move forward and rebuild," said Sen. Frank R. Lautenberg.

"I am pleased that these areas will be added to the list of those receiving aid, but I hope that this is not the final word from FEMA," said Sen. Menendez. "More than two weeks after a storm that ravaged our state, many communities that suffered obvious setbacks still find themselves without the federal help they desperately need. I will continue working until statewide assistance is guaranteed for everyone who needs aid in New Jersey."

Last week, a declaration was signed for individuals in Bergen, Burlington, Essex, Passaic, Somerset and Union Counties, making federal assistance available as residents recover from rampant flooding and other damage caused by the Nor'easter that ravaged the state. Individuals in Hudson, Middlesex, and Morris Counties also were added to the declaration, and public assistance was made available to Bergen, Burlington, Camden, Essex, Hudson, Mercer, Middlesex, Passaic, Somerset, Sussex and Union Counties.

# # #