Casey, Specter, Schumer, Clinton, Lautenberg, Menendez Introduce Resolution to Honor Winners of Science Competition

Casey, Specter, Schumer, Clinton, Lautenberg, Menendez Introduce Resolution to Honor Winners of Science Competition

Washington - U.S. Senators Bob Casey (D-PA), Arlen Specter (R-PA), Charles Schumer (D-NY) , Hillary Clinton (D-NY), Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ) and Robert Menendez (D-NJ) today introduced a bipartisan resolution in recognition of the winners and finalists of the 2007-2008 Siemens Competition in Math, Science and Technology. This year's competition marks the first time women have won top spots in the competition.

"Pennsylvania is very proud to call some of these fine young ladies our own," said Casey. "Women have a long, proud history of making significant contributions to the fields of science, math and technology and these students have made great strides to live up to that tradition. If we want to compete in the global economy, we must dedicate more resources to teaching all students math, science and technology."

"I applaud these young women for their contributions to the fields of math and science," Specter said. "Education is one of our greatest capital assets and I am pleased that several Pennsylvanian students have been recognized for their work through the Siemens Competition in Math, Science and Technology."

"The achievements and contributions made today by young people in science and technology are just amazing. New York students have a proud history in this competition and this year's winners are no exception. Congratulations to Janelle, Amanda, and Alicia, as well as all the other finalists for their excellent research and dedication to the field of science," said Schumer.

"I am so proud of these young women, the first women ever to win this prestigious competition," said Senator Clinton. "Our nation's security and prosperity in the 21st Century depends on nurturing new scientists and engineers whose innovations will keep America competitive. With gifted young women like Janelle Schlossberger and Amanda Marinoff from Long Island, New York leading the way, our future looks bright indeed."

"America needs leaders in math, science and technology to continue to move our country forward. I am proud of these women for their impressive work -- work that will yield benefits for generations to come," Senator Lautenberg said. "Young women in New Jersey and nationwide need more opportunities like the Siemens Science Competition to continue to expand our boundaries of knowledge."

"We are incredibly proud of these students and their contributions to the science, math and technology fields," said Menendez. "In an increasingly competitive global economy, our country stands to benefit from the work and dedication of these young students, and we should continue to encourage all young Americans to succeed in these challenging endeavors."

Isha Himani Jain, 16, is a senior at Freedom High School in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania and placed first in the competition's individual category. Jain's prize earned her a $100,000 scholarship for her research on bone growth in zebra fish.

Janelle Schlossberger and Amanda Marinoff placed first in the team category for creating a molecule that helps block the reproduction of drug-resistant tuberculosis bacteria. Schlossberger and Marinoff, both 17, are seniors at Plainview-Old Bethpage John F. Kennedy High School on Long Island, New York and will split a $100,000 scholarship.

The Siemens Competition in Math, Science and Technology was first held in 1998 and is one of the top student science competitions in the country. This is the first time in the history of the competition that females have won first place in both the individual and team categories.

The resolution also congratulates all the 2007-2008 national finalists:

1) Ayon Sen, Austin, TX

2) Alexander C. Huang, Plano, TX

3) Nandini Sarma, Prairie Village, KS

4) Alicia Darnell, Pelham, NY

5) Isha Himani Jain, Bethlehem, PA

6) Jacob Steinhardt, Alexandria, VA

7) Sarah Waliany, La Cañada Flintridge, CA

Shelina Kurwa, Pasadena, CA

8) Camden Miller, Allen, TX

John Y. Chen, Plano, TX

9) Christopher Ding, Rochester Hills, MI

James Jiang, Troy, MI

10) Janelle Schlossberger, Plainview, NY

Amanda Marinoff, Plainview, NY

11) Caroline Lang, Yardley, PA

Rebecca Ehrhardt, Hamilton Square, NJ

Naomi Collipp, Yardley, PA

12) Vivek Bhattacharya, Raleigh, NC

Hao Lian, Raleigh, NC

Daniel Vitek, Raleigh, NC