Thousands of New Jersey workers and families are suffering as a result of the drastic, but vital social distancing measures we must take to prevent the spread of the coronavirus and ultimately save lives. Direct payments will help working families weather this storm, and while there’s more to do, Democrats successfully fought to ensure low-income Americans aren’t shortchanged in the middle of a national crisis.
How will the CARES Act help you?
New Jerseyans can apply for unemployment compensation at www.myunemployment.nj.gov. You can also apply by phone by calling one of the following numbers:
Every state has its own unique unemployment insurance (UI) program. New Jersey’s program -- run by our Department of Labor and Workforce Development (NJLWD) -- provides jobless workers with 60% of their average base pay on a weekly basis. New Jersey provides a maximum weekly benefit of $713 for up to 26 weeks. However, the CARES Act passed in response to the COVID-19 pandemic adds 13 additional weeks for a total of 39 weeks. In addition, between now and July 31, an additional $600 will be added to every unemployment compensation check, so no one will receive less than $600 per week.
Yes, the CARES Act adds 13 additional weeks of unemployment compensation, for a total of 39 week in the state of New Jersey. In addition, between now and July 31, an additional $600 will be added to every unemployment compensation check, so no one will receive less than $600 per week. That means if you are typically eligible for $600 a week in unemployment compensation, you will see a temporary increase of $600 through July for a total of $1,200 a week.
No. If you qualify for unemployment, the $600 per week applies regardless of what your salary was. That means if you are typically eligible for $600 a week in unemployment compensation, you will see a temporary increase of $600 through July for a total of $1,200 a week.
Senator Menendez worked to ensure that the CARES Act temporarily covers individuals who are not typically eligible for unemployment insurance, including the self-employed, gig-workers, independent contractors, and workers with irregular work history. It also expands the list of allowable criteria for claiming unemployment compensation to include many reasons related to the COVID-19 public health emergency. Visit New Jersey’s unemployment website to determine your eligibility.
If you exhaust the weeks of unemployment compensation available to you through your state’s laws, you will be eligible for an additional 13 weeks of benefits. These benefits will be federally- funded, but you will still receive them through your state.
Expanded eligibility for unemployment insurance will be in effect until December 31, 2020. The $600 additional benefit will be added to unemployment compensation received for weeks between when the bill is enacted and July 31, 2020.
The CARES Act includes incentives for states to waive the waiting week between applying for unemployment compensation and receiving it. Visit New Jersey’s unemployment website for more information.
Yes. If you were scheduled to start a job, but lost the job or are unable to get to it as a result of coronavirus, you’ll be eligible.